Fandom Friday #18- November 2, 2012

Welcome to November, Internet! Hamishmd, here, hoping to be a little bit more active with blogging, since I’ve now finished my move.  And since I can’t grow a mustache, maybe I’ll try writing a novel. Pastiche, of course. If anyone has any links to resources on 1920s Egyptology let me know….

Now on to our usual mayhem and shenanigans…

1.)  Last time I tried a “Video Only” FF, which ended up in me pulling my hair trying to find ONE. LAST.VIDEO. And here, refind this a week later, and laugh hysterically.

I think my favorite bit is the corresponding soundtracks. Or the fact that they all treat the only Watson as their Watson. Yup, that’s my favorite.

2.) I loves me some Sherlock Holmes toys. I’ve got the wee Holmes Mini-Fig from Lego, and I hope to get the Playmobile detective someday. In the meantime, this VERY creative fan has tickled my fancy quite a bit!

Found on Pinterest via Sherleck on Tumber

3.) I am a historian by schooling. Therefore, primary sources make me go “SQUEE!” This one made me go SQUEE.

Caption states “From the December 14, 1893 edition of the Western Maile”

Found via Pinterest

4.) Those of you who follow us on Facebook may have noticed our mascots: Sherlock & Watson Sock Monkeys. Like many historians, I also make Sock Monkeys. Since our Plush fellows came into existance, I have been on the lookout for accessories and clothes to make them the best sock-representations-of-classic-literature-characters I possibly can. Here’s an etsy seller who’s got me drooling….think she’d make a slightly smaller version?

Etsy Seller ClockworkandCthulhu (which is the best name ever)

5.) If you all hadn’t noticed, one of our favorite things on Stormy Petrels is the juxtaposition and celebration of ALL Holmes & Watsons. Even if some of them are the red-headed step-child, and sound like Piglet.

Found via Pinterest from Sup Holmes on Twitter

And on that note….Happy November!

Leave a Reply

