Fandom Friday[s] #3 and #4 ~ March 23 and 30, 2012

Well folks, I’ve dropped the ball.  It’s true.  It was my job to post last week’s Fandom Friday picks, but I failed to get to it.   Funny story, that…  I had just settled down at my desk to begin composing the new post when someone knocked on my door.  I don’t get much company these days and the hour was odd, so it took me quite by surprise.  When I opened the door, a corpulent, red-faced, middle-aged man breathlessly pushed his way across the threshold and half-coherently addressed me by name.  Perplexed, I invited him in the rest of the way and offered him a seat, but instead of accepting, he promptly took to rapidly pacing back and forth through my living room, fretfully wringing his hands and mumbling something about a lost coronet.  I gently took hold of his arm and tried to calm him down, but he wriggled his way free and rushed over to the nearest wall, whereupon he began pitifully banging his head. …  Okay.  Maybe not.  My life is hardly even a fraction as interesting as that, but it was fun to pretend just now.  In reality, I was busy doing something rather atypical for me these days (thanks to my workload):  Being social.  *GASP*  I did in fact have company over, but I’m afraid it was nothing quite so piquant.  The end result was that I simply didn’t have time to do any blogging.  To even out the score, I will now do a DOUBLE post.  That’s right folks.  For a limited time only, you get TWO Fandom Fridays for the price of ONE!  But WAIT.  There’s more!  If you call within the next ten minutes, HamishMD and I will throw in a brand new set of…. Okay, that’s enough.  On to the picks:

1.) Now, I know what you may be thinking.  I can hear you screaming; ‘Hey!  That’s not a piece of fan art!  I’ve been cheated!’  But hang on a minute and let me explain.  This is a picture of Mark Gatiss.  But not just any picture of Mark Gatiss.  This is a picture of Mark Gatiss at Undershaw.  What is ‘Undershaw’?  For those of you not already familiar with it, Undershaw is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s former residence in Hindhead, Surrey (UK).  He built this house (completed in 1897) for his ailing wife ‘Touie’ and his children, in hopes that the fresh Surrey air and sunshine would aid Touie’s recovery.  Heartbreakingly, Undershaw currently stands unoccupied in a state of deeply shameful neglect and (worse still) is in very imminent danger of being developed (i.e. permanently split into individual townhouses).  Mark Gatiss is the celebrity patron for the Undershaw Preservation Trust, which is currently fighting tooth and nail to see that the house is preserved as one piece.  (Now you know what that logo at the top right of this page is for.)  Personally, I cannot think of any finer, or more movingly reverent display of  ‘fandom’ than to see people from all over the world come together and stand up in defense of Conan Doyle’s legacy.  HamishMD and I are both wholehearted supporters of ‘UPT’ (part of why I didn’t get this done last weekend involved me being occupied with local promotion), and we think you ought to be too.  (Follow the hyperlink above, or click on the image below.)

~ You can expect to hear about this from me again.  You have been warned.

Mark Gatiss rocks 'The Umbrella' at Undershaw

2.)  “I care not how humble your bookshelf may be, or how lonely the room which it adorns. Close the door of that room behind you, shut off with it all the cares of the outer world, plunge back into the soothing company of the great dead, and then you are through the magic portal into that fair land whither worry and vexation can follow you no more. You have left all that is vulgar and all that is sordid behind you. There stand your noble, silent comrades, waiting in their ranks. Pass your eye down their files. Choose your man. And then you have but to hold up your hand to him and away you go together into dreamland.” ~ Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Through the Magic Door)

Alright, alright.  So this one  really isn’t a piece of fan-made artwork, but I’m sorry, it was simply too lovely to not post and it goes very well with #1.

3.) !!SPOILER ALERT!!  If you have not seen season two of BBC’s Sherlock, for the love of God and all that is holy, do not follow this link!  You’ll be horrifyingly sorry if you do.  For those who have, enjoy this list of theories and their accompanying breakdowns:  The Final Problem  Mark Gatiss did tell you…but did you listen?

4.) !!SPOILER ALERT!! Again, do not follow this link if you have not seen season two.  Sorry guys.  ~ The Scottish Falcetto Sock Puppet Theatre does their take on Sherlock.

4.)  This is hands down the most fantastic library poster I have ever seen.

SourceAmerican Library Association

5.)  For just $150, you can adorn your bookshelves (however humble they may be) with this:

*weeps*

Source: National Building Museum (Shop).  If you buy one, please don’t tell me.

6.)  This is one of my most favorite Sherlock fan-videos so far.  It is exceptionally well made, and the song is rather extraordinarily perfect.

Thanks ‘multikitten’!

7.) Olypmic Games…’Canon’-style:  http://subtlefire.tumblr.com/post/19201951697/the-sherlock-holmes-olympic-games

How many did you get without looking them up?

8.)  Am I the only one who regularly thinks ‘Gee, I really wish all of these marvelous, scholarly Sherlockian resources had handy indexes for quick cross-referencing’?  Clearly not.  Try this on for size:  Downloadable Indexes of Sherlockian Works.

9.) And while we’re at it:  A database of Sherlockian pastiches, parodies and related fiction.

10.)  Well.  Here we are at the end of this week’s installment.  Before I go, let me leave you with this small piece of exceedingly sound advice:

Source: alicexz.tumblr.com  She also does absolutely INCREDIBLE paintings and illustrations.  Like this (your bonus track for the week):

~ ~ ~

~ Now, if you’ll excuse me.  I need to return to my mind palace. ~

Leave a Reply

